X

How can we help you bloom?

We'd love to learn about your business needs and goals.Please fill out the form or give us a call on 0477 533 887. We're looking forward to hearing from you!

Setting Up Google My Business

How To Set-up Google My Business

Google My Business allows customers to discover your business through the Google knowledge panel or Google Maps. You are missing out on reaching potential customers if you don’t have an account or your account is incomplete. 

You need a Google account (G Suite) to manage your Google My Business account. So, first, you need to ensure you have a Google account. If you don’t already have one, create a G Suite account for your business and enter your details.

You will experience one of the following three scenarios: 

Unclaimed listing

A listing that is unclaimed will look similar to a claimed listing, however will typically have less business information. Claim your business by clicking the ‘Own this business?’ link, followed by the blue ‘Manage Now’ button. Continue by following the prompts until you can choose a verification method (i.e. postcard, or phone call). 

The business listing is already claimed

Request ownership of the account. Go to business.google.com/create and search for your business name. A message will appear saying ‘This listing has already been claimed’. You will also see the clue of the email address that has previously verified the listing (ie [email protected]). 

  • If you recognise the email address, you can proceed with claiming your Google My Business (if you have ownership of the email address), or contact the person who owns the email address.
  • If you don’t recognise the email address, speak to your employees, business partners, marketing agency or developer (past and present), or previous business owners to see if anyone has claimed the business and matches the email address clue.
    OR
  • Click the blue ‘Request Access’ button and submit. Follow the ‘Someone else manages this business on Google’ instructions.

Your business listing doesn’t exist on Google My Business

Create a listing by visiting https://www.google.com/business/ and pressing the blue ‘Manage Now’ button. Finish creating your account by following the steps. We recommend using your true business name, and not being tempted to add any keywords to your business name (e.g. Bloom Digital Marketing). We also recommend using your business email instead of your new Gmail account. 

Completing Your Google My Business Listing

The best way to optimise your listing (at this point) is to ensure that your account is complete. Finish completing your account by: 

Completing your business information in the info tab: 

  • Add secondary categories. Ensure the categories are relevant to your business and don’t add too many categories. 
  • Include your service area/s if you provide delivery or on-site services. 
  • Add your business hours and any ‘special’ hours (i.e. public holidays). 
  • Include an appointment link if applicable.
  • Create a Profile Short Name. This is an @ handle (similar to an Instagram handle).
  • Include your products and/or services. Some accounts will only see one of these options, and depends on the business categories you’ve chosen.
  • Write a business description that provides a summary of your business in up to 750 characters. Make sure that it’s clear what your business provides and what makes your business unique. Include keywords in the description.

Add photos and videos

Like the saying ‘a photo speaks a thousand words’ suggests, adding photos and videos to your profile engages customers. You can add photos and videos by heading to the ‘Photos’ tab. Google My Business allows for videos that are less than 30 seconds long. Try to include your business and/or employees. 

It is important to note: If you optimise your Google My Business as soon as you create it (before you log out of it), then when you receive your verification card in the mail, the code should still work. However, we have found that if you try to optimise your Google My Business listing after you’ve logged out, prior to receiving your code, the code is usually invalid, and you will need to apply and wait again.

We hope this helps! For more information about how to optimise your Google My Business or other marketing platforms, get in touch with us for a coaching session.